A little behind – sick days rule (kinda)

Ok, so I started this blogging challenge and have every intention of getting in 30+ posts in October.  What I didn’t count on is the pain flare from hell.  I’ve been barely moving for two days now.  Sitting hurts, lying hurts, standing is near impossible.  It’s typical for me to hurt a little more a few days each month, but come on! Times like this I’m really glad I have the flex schedule I’ve always wanted.

I work every day, but not a typical 8 hour workday.  I put in 25-40 hours a week depending on what I’m working on, and most days I keep my workload down to 4-6 hours.  When pain kicks in, I cut back.  I am no good to anyone when the pain fog meets pain meds fog.  I’m not sure how this will work outside of home or with a typical schedule.  Thankfully, right now, I don’t have to find out.

On sick days, I work a little via cell.  Have I mentioned lately how much I love technology?  And automation software rules!  I can schedule posts while lucid and not worry about it.  Not worry much, anyway.  I can check email and social media from bed.   My next purchase may be Dragon Naturally Speaking so I can get more done.

As for housework, that’s what kids are for.  🙂  And my pain + med fog makes me more entertaining.  At least I think so.

And now that i’m feeling a little better, it’s time to make up for lost time.   I have a feeling that my to do list will make me consider going back to bed.

So, telecommuters. how do you handle your sick days?

2 thoughts on “A little behind – sick days rule (kinda)

  1. I am so sorry you’ve been experiencing pain… what is the cause?
    When I am sick I usually work in bed and in small increments of time…. it’s not the most efficient way of doing business but is sometimes how I can push through. If I have an assistant at the time I really delegate or I simply tell the client I’m ill and won’t be working today but will make up the hours over the weekend or something. I’m all about transparency.
    I truly hope you are feeling better and I look forward to seeing more of your posts 🙂

    • Thanks! Nice plan there. Working from bed is better than totally missing a deadline. Yay, technology and assistants.

      I have a bad spine (degeneration and arthritis) and when it flares, life stinks.

Leave a Reply

