So, I’m a little late. I had a date with my niece.

I worked early on Thursday – between 7:30 and 10 am – so I could take the afternoon to spend with my niece.  She is a gorgeous nearly two-year old with a memory that freaks me out a little.

The Divine Miss S hasn’t spent much solo time at my house between the dogs, my health issues, and my workaholic nature, but when she’s here, she slays me.  First, when her parents leave, she doesn’t cry.  Not one tear.  She asks where they are, I tell her where and that they’ll be back soon, she says ‘ok,’ and that’s it.  My kiddos used to cry or at least pout a little.  I’m not used to such a little one going with the flow.

Second, her memory is creepily good.  Like are-her-parents-doping-her-with-Ginko Bilboa good.  I have a bell hanging in my dining room.  I let her ring it twice, with the second time happening in August.   She walked into the room, looked for it, then asked to ring it.  She also remembered that my son’s game controller is his and called it ‘R’s toy’ the second she laid eyes on it.   See, creepily good memory.

And let’s not forget playtime.  Running around the house, walking around the neighborhood, dancing, reading, and talking on the phone made up the bulk of our time together.  Miss S is quite the talker and had something to share about mailboxes, butterflies, trees, airplanes, unseen yet heard dogs, and motorcycles.  And most of it was perfectly clear.  She seems older to me, but then again, it’s been 13 years since I had one that young around on a daily basis.

She is a ball of beauty, intelligence, and wit and she’s still just a baby.  Bro and sis-in-law, I see trouble ahead.

 

4 thoughts on “So, I’m a little late. I had a date with my niece.

  1. Awwww your niece sounds absolutely adorable ! I have a fair share of nieces and nephews courtesy of my huge family and it’s as if all the kids are much older than their age. All of them pick up on things that you expect from an older child.

    Stopping by from the UBC FB page. Good luck on the challenge and look forward to reading your posts.

  2. Wow, sounds like a great time and an absolutely acceptable excuse for being late. Don’t you just love hanging out with lit’l ones? It’s so refreshing.
    Found you via UBC on FB and am now following. I love you blog and can’t wait to read more! Especially the vegetarian stuff. I’m toying with the idea of changing my eating habits strictly for the health benefits and even if I crumble and get weak I’m going to definitely attempt to substitute 3 or 4 meals a week. Your blog looks like a great place to start! 🙂

    • Kids are something else. 🙂 Thanks so much. Making the switch to meatless eats is easier than you’d think. We went meatless tonight with breakfast for dinner. Since we rarely had meat at breakfast anyway, it’s a great way to change the mindset.

Leave a Reply

