So many winnings, so little time

I cannot believe my luck!  Here I am, wondering how to bring in more money for fun and frivolous spending when I have multiple notification of big winnings and donations!  Oh happy day!  Yes!  I’m a happy woman!  Well, I would be if any of these were real.  Well, might be happier.

As always, the spelling, grammar, and formats are all theirs.  My notes are italicized.

From: GAZPROM OIL COMPANY (ajcwf9@mst.edu) (He also emailed it to himself and BCC’d me; brilliant!)

Subject: CALL TO CONFIRM NOW!!! (Caps and exclamation point abuse are serious issues with spammers)

GAZPROM OIL COMPANY
MALAYSIA PAY-OUT CENTER

33-11-4 JALAN KIA PENG,
50422 KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA.

Date: 1st October, 2012.

Dear Winner,

You are entitled to $920,000.00 USD in the on-going Gazprom Oil & Gas Poverty Alleviation Program. To apply for your payment, E-mail Mrs. Alizah Mohamed your full Name,Address and Phone Number to gazpromoilgascompany@kimo.com OR Dial +60.164.802.057 for more inquiries on the above message.

Yours truly,

Ms. Yang Ming
(Announcer)
If you notice, kimo.com is a common domain for scam emails lately. Be safe and run malware scans just in case after trying to go directly to it. It took me to a Yahoo ‘Page Not Found’ notification. If anything screams legitimate offer, a 404 page does. Eeep!  The link I shared there goes to a Whois search result.  Of course the registrar is hidden.  
=====

From: Allen large (info@mail.com)

Subject: $500,000.00 USD donation to you

$500,000.00 USD donation to you,Contact us via my wife’s personal email for more details (allen.violet.large1962@hotmail.co.uk)

Okay, then. This huge donation just has to be legit. Why else would he want me to contact his wife instead of him?  And a Hotmail account to boot.  Sign me right up!  Not really.

=====

I received this one twice in two days. Does this mean I ‘win’ twice the award?

From: BRITISH PETROLEUM AWARD (service@pina.com.tw)

Subject: WINNING NOTIFICATION

Your email address emerged as a winner in the British Petroleum Company Award 2012 with the lucky number: 09 14 24 25 42 48 (05).

And as a result you have been granted the lump sum payout of 700,000.00 Great British Pounds. Contact your claims officer: Dr. Harry Peterson on Email: claimsagent@btpetrol.com you are to forward the below details to enable him clear your file for immediate payment:

1. Full Names:…..{}
2. Address:…..{}
3. Age: ……{}
4. Sex:….{}
5. Marital Status: .{}
6. Occupation:…..{}
7. mobile numbers: ….{}
8. Fax number:……{}
9. Country: …..{}
10.Amount won…..()
11.Email address…()

Sincerely,
Online Coordinator.

Btpetrol.com is another dead end domain.  The link I’m sharing is another Whois search result.

=====

Apparently I’m big with the Brits. Sigh. I dream.

From: BRITISH WEB LOTTERY PROMO (info@hotmail.com)

Subject: (no subject – I guess to make me more curious?)

Your e-mail address has won a lump sum payout of £800, 000, 00 GBP in the ongoing PROMO contact us with your full details for claims.Mr Douglas Eric, Email: ericmrdouglas@kimo.com, TELL: +447011137510

Additional comments are unnecessary here. 

—–

So did you enjoy the peek into my inbox?  Wasn’t it fun? Deleting them was just as much fun.

Until next time, be safe, keep your malware and antivirus programs up to date, and laugh more.

 

6 thoughts on “So many winnings, so little time

    • I’m not sure what kind of response you seek. My posts help expose these scams for what they are. I do not have contest rewards or secret funds for you or anyone. If someone contacts you out of the blue with this type of offer, it is not likely legitimate.

      Hope this helps.

  1. I just received the very same e-mail that u received, one that’s about an oil company named Gazprom. So how do they get hold of our e-mails?

Leave a Reply

