Unclaimed funds,eh? Not very likely.

A wag of my finger goes to the people notifying me and others about thousands of dollars in unclaimed funds just waiting for me.   The week before Christmas I received three in my main inbox.  And my newsletter and junk mailboxes were full – three fake money notifications for every one legit message.  It’s pretty bad.

Be on the lookout for these.   My comments are italicized; other formatting and grammar or spelling issues come directly from the message.


From:  Office of Special Notices (info@consolationimperminent.com) An identical message came from info@kingsizerefrigeration.com with the same subject line.  

Subject:  (name or in my case, email address), Please respond for possible unclaimed funds by 11:59 pm

Attention Local Resident,

We are pleased to inform you that our funds matching department has identified you to be a potential candidateTO RECEIVE UNCLAIMED FUNDING. This is not a permanent status, if this notice goes unresolved our finds matching department will have no choice but to reevaluate your status. At that time any pending unresolved funds may be relegated to other candidates or may be expired entirely.

Your immediate response is required to resolve your status and determine any and all unclaimed funds currently available to you.

Important: You must complete this brief questionnaire to determine funding currently available to you

Before distributing any of the unclaimed funding, we must establish a Claimant File. As a recipient of this Notice, your name could be the name which we end up filing as a local financing recipient.

Respond now! A prompt response could bring unclaimed funding right to your doorstep!

Sincerely yours,

Finally Funded Notification Dept.

You may qualify regardless of credit history! 

 If these are unclaimed finds, why would my credit history matter?  

——-

The urgent response requirement and promise of possible funding are supposed to make me jump for the chance, especially during the holiday season.  Nah, I’ll pass.

I received this one as well:

From:  iza6oewjnq8vf66ziu@dispecime.com

Subject: Second Attempt: Please Respond for Possible Unclaimed Funds

The only text in this message body was a URL that pointed to  a domain that was not found.   I am not going to post the full URL  here because I don’t want to be responsible for anyone contracting a virus.  I will, however, share the WHOIS info for the domain:

Domain name: demoremation.com

Administrative Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4259744730
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O demoremation.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Technical Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4259744730
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O demoremation.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Registrant Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()

Fax:
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O demoremation.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Status: Locked

Name Servers:
dns1.name-services.com
dns2.name-services.com
dns3.name-services.com
dns4.name-services.com
dns5.name-services.com

Creation date: 26 May 2011 18:02:48
Expiration date: 26 May 2012 18:02:00

As always, be safe, be smart.  Peace.

11 thoughts on “Unclaimed funds,eh? Not very likely.

  1. Someone left me a email talking about unclaimed money for me well i am responding and they can reach me at xxx and my number is xxx baltimore md xx

  2. I got that same e-mail. Why do people fall for this stuff? Anytime I get such an e-mail I either put it in spam, delete, or copy part of the text and do an internet search on it, where it always shows up as some sort of scam being sent around via e-mail. No one is going to contact you by e-mail to give you money. Think people!

Leave a Reply

