So, the FBI is after me – according to spam messages, anyway

I opened mail to find two warning messages from the FBI today.  Apparently I’ve been a  bad wahm and have to open the attached messages immediately to find out what steps I need to take next.  I’m shaking.

First up was this gem (typos and caps are not mine):

FBI OFFICIAL NOTIC==FBI OFFICE GET BACK TO US IMMEDIATELY IF YOU DONT WANT US TO ARREST YOU AND JAIL YOU FOR YOUR OWN G0OD

Shockingly, the second message was exactly the same.  Can it be that two agents are working on my case and not sharing information with one another?  Yeah, I didn’t think so, either.

A few months back my inbox was full of traffic citations from NY.  Same format as these messages, warnings and an address to remit payment of fees.  Unless you are living a double life or have fallen under a criminal’s spell, these are spam messages and the only agents involved are imaginary.  Save your money and identity.  Report, block the sender and response email, and delete.   Even better, share the information and warning with friends, block, and delete.

Silly criminals.

Until later, I’m raising my mug of coconut nog latte and wishing you a good one.

Leave a Reply

