WAHM life and sick days are such fun….

I don’t mean sick days for the kids, but for me.  I’m lucky that I don’t have to deal with anyone over the phone or via webcam.  I think I would have scared them today – ponytail just tossed on top of my head; glasses falling down my stuffy nose; jug of water and mugs of ginger tea at my side.

I think sick day productivity is a huge side benefit for employers of telecommuters.  I know I feel guilty enough about missing work that I’ll try to get something done.  And I’m not spreading my ick throughout the workplace.  I’m not spreading it at home, either; not this time, anyway.  This ick is due to some bad food at some point over the weekend and I’m still trying to pinpoint the exact item and location (possibly a Savannah, GA McDonald’s….)

I put in a half day today, partly because of how I felt and partly because of the big assignment due tomorrow.  I made it through the day without strangling anyone, accidentally shredding my notes, or terrifying my kids into silence.  (I’ve done that before and don’t want to repeat it. )

Just like a parent working outside of the home, the household duties don’t stop just because you feel like stopping.  But I’m lucky; my kids are old enough to help without making more work for me in the end.  The dogs, however, decided to help by running through the freshly sorted laundry piles and becoming ill themselves.

Oh man am I rambling this time around.  I think I’ll take my sleep-deprived self on to bed.  And hope that tomorrow will be the end of this ick.  I’m ready for a full day of work, refereeing a water gun fight during my lunch break, and teaching the kid about business, telecommuting, and time management.

Leave a Reply

