A little more about my green life

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been a green mom longer than I’ve been a green biz mom.  I drove my mother crazy with my recycling, vegetarian-leaning, liberal ways, but I’m a better person and mom because of it.  I want to give our Mother as much love as I can and help heal her.  I know my individual efforts are small, but if each of us does our part, we can help.
Recycling is a given – paper, bottles, cans, dryer sheets, clothing – everything we can.  We donate the kids’ (and our) outgrown clothing to Goodwill, have reduced the amount of waste we produce and amount of energy we use, and reuse goodies that we can find.  I have an old console tv body that mom was going to toss and use it as a plant stand.  It means the world to me that my husband and kids are also on board, and that in general the world is becoming a greener place.  Even if it is the trendy thing to do.
Let’s go back to the beginning.  I was born at 11:59 pm on March 30, 1069…Too far back?  K.
When I was 12-13 I told my mom I wanted to be a vegetarian.  She said ok, then loaded my pate with meat, veggies cooked with meat, and rice cooked in chicken broth and told me to eat. She said that until I started cooking or had a job and could buy my own food, I had to eat what she cooked.  So I did.  Until I hit 17 and got my first real job (I wanted to work before then, but she wouldn’t allow it).  I started limiting meat and increasing veggies, bread, and cheese.  Oh how I loved cheese!  When I got my own place I discovered Books, Herbs, & Spices, a local  health food store, and became a regular.  My love of cookbooks and all things cooking blossomed then, and I saw food as an adventure.
[Yes, vegetarians can be heavy!  I just hadn’t learned how to balance out the things I loved with things that I loved but should limit.  Even Fruity Pebbles is vegan, but that didn’t mean I should eat it for breakfast, second breakfast, late snacks, etc.]
I also learned more about my impact on the environment and set on the path to reducing my contribution to Mother Earth’s pain.  I walked, rode my bike, and rode the bus more often than starting up the car.  I cleaned my apartment with vinegar, baking soda, Borax, & lemon juice concoctions.  Air freshener was usually some orange or lemon peel tossed in boiling water with a cinnamon stick or plain.  I bought a couple canvas shopping bags and took them everywhere – and had clerks put the plastic or paper bags inside the canvas bags.  I washed my cans and bottles & lugged them to the recycling center about 20 minutes from home.  And then DD was born.
I occasionally ate meat while pregnant because she craved it.  Then decided she didn’t like it.  Mom would drop off food after DD arrived – usually a roast or casserole – and I’d eat it because I was too tired to argue about it, hungry, and not up to cooking.  I went back & forth for a while flirting with a veg way of life and a generally healthier way of life.  Then I met hubby.  We ate out often.  By often I mean weekly.  I gained at least 80 pounds and was already heavy when he & I met.  I’m not sure how much I actually gained because I stopped weighing myself when I saw the scale hit 252.
Fast forward to more current events.  In April 07 hubster was away for a training session so I took the Toronto Vegetarian Association’s Veggie Challenge and was meat free for months.  Then I had a craving and fed it.  And regretted it over the following days while my body yelled at me.  Last October I joined Shaklee and started a new supplement regimen and between it and my way of eating I’d dropped a few pounds, gained energy, and reduced my blood pressure.  I’ve been visiting sites like Lime, Green Mommy Guide, and my fav veg communities and blogs for more tips and hints on keeping on track.  I participated in Earth Hour and spend my cash in places that do their part to save the Earth.  I receive and pay bills electronically and have cut down on a lot of mail.
I went veg for my health.  I went green for the Earth and my children.  I keep on this path because I couldn’t go back to living any other way  It’s a part of me and I know my family is happier and healthier because it.
5 thoughts on “A little more about my green life

  1. Hey, I found you on tag surfer and enjoyed your post! Isn’t it funny about meat and pregnancy. I am a sometime-meat eater living with two carnivores. But we still eat meat perhaps a few times a week (and bought local, naturally raised beef for the first time this year). Happy greening!

  2. Hi,

    I’m Audrey. I found your blog through the mommyfest site. Even though the blog party is long over, I’m still loving reading blogs and meeting others.

    We’ve been slowly, one step at a time becoming more and more green. We’ve always recycled, but now we’ve cut out lots of bags, baggies etc. We only use reusable grocery bags. We keep adding one more thing to what we’re already doing. Nice posts.

  3. Thanks for your comments, ladies. I’ve been to cheaplikeme’s blog and have shared it with a couple others. Audrey, I’ll be checking yours in a bit.

    I’m so bad about my grocery bags! I’m so bummed when I forget to put them back in the trunk after a shopping trip! I have 8 of them now and rarely forget anymore.

    The first time hubby tried naturally raised beef he was amazed. Just like on the King of the Hill episode with the co-op.

  4. WOW! I have been trying hard to give up meat again (I was vegetarian for 8 years long ago), I recently gave up beef for almost 6 months then had a craving. I have been trying to reduce the carbon footprint I leave. But trying doesn’t cut it. I gotta do better. thanks for the inspiration.

  5. Pingback: use of borax

Leave a Reply

